Leadership Scott County


Created in 1991, more than 488 community leaders have participated in the Leadership Scott County Program.  Monthly sessions (August – May) consisting of local history, education, government, agriculture, economics, health care and public services provide participants the background knowledge of our community while developing leadership skills.

With the formation of the Leadership Development Committee in 2004, the Georgetown/Scott County Chamber of Commerce has taken a lead role in the overview of the Leadership Scott County Program.  This committee will be responsible to ensure the consistency of the program mission from class to class.

Check out current events and class pics on their Facebook page!

LSC 2018-2019 Application

Application Process

Individuals, area businesses, and community organizations may submit applications. Applicants must have the full approval of the organization they represent. Individuals do not have to be a resident of Scott County to apply.

The sponsoring entity is responsible for the tuition fee of $500.00 per person for Georgetown/Scott County Chamber of Commerce Members and $700 for Non-Members. A limited number of partial scholarships are available and must be requested at the time of the application. All scholarship requests are completely confidential. Approximately 20 people are selected from a cross-section of the Georgetown/Scott County community and represent various social, economic, and racial backgrounds. Selection of a balanced class is important because increased understanding and knowledge of the community comes from personal interactions within the group. Selection of participants is made by the Steering Committee based on the written application. Because each class is limited in size, only a portion of applicants can be admitted each year. Leadership Scott County Applications can be found above or at the Chamber of Commerce office (160 East Main Street, Georgetown, KY).

Mailed applications must be postmarked by June 29, 2018 and sent to:
Leadership Scott County
Georgetown/Scott County Chamber of Commerce

160 E. Main St.
Georgetown, KY 40324
Contact Name: Laura Toole


Each year, the Leadership Scott County Class graduates at the May Chamber luncheon.

Class of 2015-2016

Class of 2016-2017

2016/2017 Alumni

Amanda Burrows – Elkhorn Crossing School
Maurice Chappell – Scott County Board of Education
Ryan Cooper – Planning & Zoning
Susan Duncan – Scott County School Board
Megan Gayhart – Kentucky Bank
Jamie Gifford – Georgetown Fire Department
Kristine Hoskins – The Prather Team of Keller Williams
Dianna Kouns – Georgetown Community Hospital
Denice Leamer – Commonwealth Credit Union
Damien Nichols – Ed Davis Community Inc.
Nathaniel Price – Transform Scott County
Michelle Simon – Scott County Extension Office
Mackenzie Swatsler – Georgetown/Scott County EMS
Julia Taylor – Scott County Public Library
Ashley Welch – Pratt’s Lawn & Landscape
Bobby Williamson – Georgetown Municipal Water & Sewer Service
Michael Willis – Community Trust Bank
Earnie Woodard – Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Kentucky
Click here for a list of Alumni since 1991